Braised Pork Soft Bones (豬軟骨)


HKG_4555

Ever since I bought an electric pressure cooker (Instant Pot), I’ve tried different recipes that required long cooking times on the stove top.  I must say I love pressure cooking as it has saved me so much time!   This Instant Pot is very safe to use, if the cooker is still pressurized, the lid will be locked to prevent accidental opening.  I have tried cooking a whole chicken, tri-tip, soup and Oxtail.

Ingredients:

3 poundsPork soft bones
10 clovesGarlic
1Anise
2 slicesGinger
3 stalksGreen onions
2/3 cupLight soy sauce
1/2 cupMirin
1/2 cupWater
4 TbspDark soy sauce
4 TbspBrown sugar
1 TbspMei Kuei Lu Chiew (or rice cooking wine)

Directions:

  1. I bought these pork soft bones in an Asian supermarket, as you can see from picture 1, they are like short ribs and has a little fat marbling in the meat. The little white circles are the soft bones, once the ribs are cooked for a long time, you can eat the bones together with the meat.
  2. Add 2 tablespoons of cooking oil to a frying pan and fry the pork ribs until slightly golden brown. (picture 2)
  3. Add garlic, ginger and green onions to the ribs and stir well. (picture 3)
  4. Add a tablespoon of Mei Kuei Lu Chiew (if you don’t have this type of wine, just add rice cooking wine). (picture 4)
  5. Transfer the ribs to a pressure cooker. In a separate bowl, combine light soy sauce, mirin, water, dark soy sauce and brown sugar.  Pour the mixture into the pressure cooker. (pictures 5-10)
  6. I am using an electric pressure cooker (Instant Pot).  Close the pressure cooker lid tight and make sure the steam release knob is turned to “Sealing” position. Select “Meat/Stew” function, set pressure to “normal” and the cooking time to 35 minutes.  As the pressure increases inside the cooker, the Float Valve pops up and seals the cooker.  (picture 11)
  7. When the ribs are done cooking, slide the steam release knob to the “Venting” position to let out steam until the Float Valve drops down. The meat is so soft and tender, you can serve it with noodles in soup or rice.  (Picture 12)
soft-bone-ribs-collages

Note:  If you don’t have a pressure cooker and want to make this on the stove top, instead of 1/2 cup of water, add 4 cups of water to the pot.  Cook ribs in medium low heat for about 2 hours.

hkg_4556

7 thoughts on “Braised Pork Soft Bones (豬軟骨)

  1. Sorry, I just attracted by the pictures you posted in your post and didn’t read the recipe before I sent my last comment to you. I will check if I can find any soft bones pork in 99 Ranch. Thanks for the sharing!! Please share more of your recipes to us and I also want to fully utilize the IP..

  2. I tried this recipe using a gas stove and it turned out very well. I reduced the amount of light sauce and it was still delicious, my husband loved it, thanks!

Leave a comment