Japanese Salad


Japanese Salad

I found this salad dressing recipe from Allrecipes.com.   It tasted exactly like the one we ate at the sushi restaurant.  The only change I made was to substitute olive oil for peanut oil.  I guarantee this will be a hit.

Ingredients:

3 head
1
Romaine Lettuce
Carrot

Ingredients for dressing:

1/2 Cup          Minced white onion

1/2 Cup          Olive oil

1/3 Cup          Rice wine vinegar

2 Tbsp           Water

2 Tbsp           Minced fresh ginger

2 Tbsp           Minced celery

2 Tbsp           Ketchup

4 tsp              Light soy sauce

2 tsp              Granulated sugar

2 tsp              Fresh lemon juice

1/2 tsp           Minced garlic

1/2 tsp           Salt

1/4 tsp           Black pepper

Directions:

  1. Wash, peel and julienne carrot; wash and cut lettuce.  Combine both vegetables and set aside.
  2. In a blender, combine all ingredients for the dressing and blend on high speed for about 30 seconds or until all of the ingredients are well-pureed.
  3. Serve the salad with a few tablespoons of dressing.

24 thoughts on “Japanese Salad

  1. Pingback: Shrimp and Vegetable Tempura | GinsKitchen

  2. Pingback: Homemade how to: Japanese Ginger Salad dressing. - I could drink this stuff! - Also Kitchen

  3. I can’t wait to make this! I know it will be delicious. Did you know that the related article: Japanese Salad with Sesame Dressing (ourlittlechinesekitchen.wordpress.com) has been deleted?

  4. Pingback: Day 8- Body Reset

  5. Just whipped this up at 9pm because I had a SERIOUS craving! It’s delicious and I’ll definitely be making more! I did add about another 1/2 tsp. of ginger and tsp. of sugar. It’s spot on!

  6. Pingback: Japanese Salad – gazzetta

    • Yes, you can substitute rice vinegar for other vinegars. Rice vinegar tends to be a little sweeter and it’s much milder than other western vinegars. I used regular vinegar for this recipe before but reduced the amount by little (1/3 cup of vinegar is about 80ml, you can do 1/4 cup which is about 60ml and add 20ml of water to retain the liquid amount). Regular vinegar is more acidic, you may want to add a little sugar as well.

  7. This did not taste anything like the dressing I’ve had at a Japanese restaurant. It was too vinegary and very thin. I’m very disappointed, I have yet to find a recipe that comes close.😳

  8. Pingback: Japanese Salad - Nuestra

Leave a comment